Login Search    

McCormick Foundation Press Room



McCormick Foundation

  • McCormick Foundation Grants Nearly $1 Million for Citywide Literacy Programs through Chicago Tribune Charities
    (Thu, 17 Dec 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • McCormick Foundation Elects Two New Board Members
    (Wed, 16 Dec 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • New Report Reveals Disappointment and Disengagement Among Illinois Citizens
    Illinois citizens, particularly young people, are withdrawing from active civic engagement Study shows support for funding civic education


  • First Lady Michelle Obama and Dr. Jill Biden to attend game one of World Series to honor America's Veterans



  • MTV’s “Return To Duty” Takes an Emotional Journey with “The Real World: Brooklyn’s” Ryan Conklin as he Returns to the Battlefields of Iraq
    (Wed, 28 Oct 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • McCormick Foundation Invests More Than $5 Million to Promote News Literacy and the Protection of First Amendment Rights
    New Foundation Program Addresses Upheaval in Media Landscape (Wed, 14 Oct 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • First lady Michelle Obama and Dr. Jill Biden Ask Americans To Support Military Families in New Public Service Announcement
    (Fri, 18 Sep 2009 00:00:00 GMT)

    Click here to view the PSA

  • 2016 Fund for Chicago Neighborhoods Announces Second Phase of Grants
    (Fri, 18 Sep 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • McCormick Foundation, Major League Baseball Announce $2.6 Million in Additional Grants for “Welcome Back Veterans”
    Twelve recipient organizations will use funds to help returning vets and families stabilize lives and re-integrate into communities (Thu, 28 May 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • DAVID HILLER NAMED NEW PRESIDENT AND CEO OF THE MCCORMICK FOUNDATION
    (Mon, 18 May 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • McCormick Foundation CEO David L. Grange to Retire (Wed, 13 May 2009)
    (Wed, 13 May 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • McCormick Foundation Teams with Chicago White Sox
    Partnership stimulates local philanthropy and improves life for Chicagoans (Wed, 29 Apr 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • McCormick Foundation’s Freedom Museum Holds Conference To Promote Civic Education In Schools
    Educators and policy-makers construct Civic Education Blueprint for Illinois schools to prepare, and inspire young people to be responsible, informed, and engaged citizens throughout their lifetime (Fri, 06 Feb 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • McCormick Foundation To Take Civic Education and Freedom Message On the Road
    Students Will Learn Closer to Home Through Extensive Outreach Programs Freedom Museum Will Leave Michigan Avenue Location March 1, 2009 Foundation Offices to Move to New Location (Fri, 30 Jan 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • McCormick Foundation Invests $5 Million in Chicago Initiatives Addressing Civic Health and Education
    (Fri, 9 Jan 2009 00:00:00 GMT)




  • Citizenship Program



    Communities Program

  • McCormick Foundation Teams with Chicago White Sox
    Partnership stimulates local philanthropy and improves life for Chicagoans (Wed, 29 Apr 2009 00:00:00 GMT)




  • Education Program

  • Education Leaders Play a Vital Role in Bridging Gaps between Early Childhood Programs and K-12 Schools
    (Mar 2009 00:00:00 GMT)

    Final Link
    White Paper
    Goals and Rec

  • Children making significant gains in city’s early childhood education programs, study says
    (Thu, 05 Feb 2009 00:00:00 GMT)




  • Journalism Program

  • McCormick Foundation Invests More Than $5 Million to Promote News Literacy and the Protection of First Amendment Rights
    New Foundation Program Addresses Upheaval in Media Landscape (Wed, 14 Oct 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • J-Lab Announces Three Awards for New Media Women Entrepreneurs
    (Wed, 15 Jul 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • The McCormick Foundation and WSU Partner for World’s First Virtual Journalism Summit
    (Tue, 03 Feb 2009 00:00:00 GMT)




  • Veterans Affairs

  • First Lady Michelle Obama and Dr. Jill Biden to attend game one of World Series to honor America's Veterans



  • MTV’s “Return To Duty” Takes an Emotional Journey with “The Real World: Brooklyn’s” Ryan Conklin as he Returns to the Battlefields of Iraq
    (Wed, 28 Oct 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • First lady Michelle Obama and Dr. Jill Biden Ask Americans To Support Military Families in New Public Service Announcement
    (Fri, 18 Sep 2009 00:00:00 GMT)

    Click here to view the PSA

  • McCormick Foundation, Major League Baseball Announce $2.6 Million in Additional Grants for “Welcome Back Veterans”
    Twelve recipient organizations will use funds to help returning vets and families stabilize lives and re-integrate into communities (Thu, 28 May 2009 00:00:00 GMT)




  • Freedom Museum

  • Three Illinois High Schools Recognized As Democracy Schools
    Schools Pave the Way to a Brighter Future in Civic Education (Fri, 18 Sep 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • Freedom Museum’s New Exhibit offers A Contemporary Spin on Lincoln's Legacy
    Provocative Exhibit Showcases Lincoln’s Relevance to Current National Issues (Thu, 9 Jul 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • McCormick Freedom Museum Adds Respected Journalists to Staff to Encourage Civic Dialogue and Promote Citizens Understanding of the First Amendment
    (Wed, 8 Jul 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • McCormick Freedom Museum Brings First Amendment Pioneer to Chicagoland Schools
    Assemblies inspire students to learn more about First Amendment (Thu, 9 Apr 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • McCormick Freedom Museum Takes its Public Programs on the Road
    Public Programs Focus on Contemporary Freedom Issues (Tue, 23 Mar 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • McCormick Freedom Museum Announces Winners in National Student Expression Contest
    Contest enables a look at the First Amendment through the eyes of teens. (Fri, 06 Mar 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • McCormick Foundation’s Freedom Museum Holds Conference To Promote Civic Education In Schools
    Educators and policy-makers construct Civic Education Blueprint for Illinois schools to prepare, and inspire young people to be responsible, informed, and engaged citizens throughout their lifetime (Fri, 06 Feb 2009 00:00:00 GMT)




  • Cantigny

  • Home Gardening Symposium at Cantigny January 16
    (Wed, 02 Dec 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • LEGO® Train Show Rolls into Cantigny December 5 & 6
    (Tue, 17 Nov 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • Cantigny 5K Proceeds Given to Midwest Shelter for Homeless Veterans
    (Thu, 12 Nov 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • Cantigny Poinsettia Display Open to Public on December 1
    (Tue, 10 Nov 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • Naperville’s Dan Curran Wins Cantigny 5K
    (Mon, 09 Nov 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • Cantigny in Focus Photo Contest Enters Final Weeks
    (Tue, 03 Nov 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • Cantigny Toy Soldier Show on November 8
    (Thu, 22 Oct 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • Cantigny Greenhouse Offers Botanical Design Classes
    Holiday workshops focus on creative and fun decorations for the home (Tue, 13 Oct 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • Cantigny 5K Run/Walk Steps Off November 7
    Race proceeds benefit Midwest Shelter for Homeless Veterans in Wheaton (Mon, 12 Oct 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • Cantigny Fall Festival Set for October 10
    Open-air market, scarecrow making, hayrides and other family-friendly attractions on tap (Thu, 1 Oct 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • Public Invited to McCormick Museum Lecture on October 8
    (Thu, 24 Sep 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • Agenda Set for Cantigny Green Fair This Saturday
    (Mon, 21 Sep 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • Cantigny Announces Stargazing on Sept. 26
    (Tue, 15 Sep 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • Cantigny to Host Naturalization Ceremony on Sept. 14
    Media invited to cover final step for 200 applicants seeking U.S. citizenship (Thu, 10 Sep 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • Cantigny Recruits “Green Golfers” Through Audubon Program
    (Thu, 10 Sep 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • Cantigny Green Fair Features “Recycling Extravaganza”
    (Wed, 9 Sep 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • Cantigny Prepares Battlefield for Revolutionary War Reenactment
    September 12-13 spectacle will feature 500 reenactors and lots of musket fire! (Thu, 3 Sep 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • Cantigny Green Fair Includes “FashionEcoNista” Show
    (Thu, 3 Sep 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • “Oktoberfest” Returns to Cantigny’s Red Oak Room on Sept. 18
    (Wed, 2 Sep 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • Cantigny “Green Fair” Features Recycled Art Contest
    Students invited to compete for cash prizes; Fair to include live demonstration by renowned local artist Joseph Gagnepain (Fri, 28 Aug 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • Cantigny Raises “Toast of the Prairie” on August 25
    (Thu, 13 Aug 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • French Connection Day Returns to Cantigny on August 16
    (Tue, 4 Aug 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • Cantigny Park to Host Unique Speed Dating Event on August 4
    (Mon, 27 Jul 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • Save the Date: “Green Fair” at Cantigny on September 26
    (Fri, 10 Jul 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • Dogs Will Have Their Day at Cantigny Park on August 8!
    (Thu, 09 Jul 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • Cantigny to Celebrate “McCormick Day” on July 30
    (Tue, 07 Jul 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • Cantigny Welcomes PGA Tour Pro Kevin Streelman
    Wheaton native to conduct free junior golf clinic at Cantigny Golf Academy on August 7 (Mon, 6 Jul 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • Seven Free Concerts at Cantigny Park in July!
    (Mon, 29 Jun 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • Cantigny Offers “Shakespeare in the Park” on July 19
    (Fri, 26 Jun 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • Robert R. McCormick Museum Receives Conservation Resources
    (Wed, 24 Jun 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • Public Invited to McCormick Museum Lecture on July 15
    (Wed, 18 Jun 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • Cantigny Park Plans Patriotic Celebration on July 4th
    (Wed, 17 Jun 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • Six Free Concerts Set For Cantigny Park in June
    (Thu, 28 May 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • Cantigny Park Fitness Classes Begin in June
    (Thu, 28 May 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • Cantigny’s McCormick Museum Announces Free Lectures
    (Thu, 21 May 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • Cantigny Announces Summer Symphony Series
    (Tue, 21 Apr 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • Cantigny Greenhouse Open to Public on May 3
    (Thu, 16 Apr 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • Chris Regenberg Joins Cantigny Golf Teaching Staff
    (Thu, 26 Mar 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • Lectures at Wheaton College Honor Lincoln Bicentennial
    (Thu, 12 Mar 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • Lee Murdock Bringing Irish Music to McCormick Museum
    (Fri, 20 Feb 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • Lincoln Poster Contest Winners Announced
    (Fri, 09 Feb 2009 00:00:00 GMT)




  • First Division Museum at Cantigny

  • First Division Museum Welcomes Army Translator Ashraf Rahman
    (Fri, 20 Nov 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • Veterans Day Observance at Cantigny Features Luminary Tribute
    (Tue, 27 Oct 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • First Division Museum Welcomes Author James Carl Nelson
    (Tue, 20 Oct 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • First Division Museum to Screen “The Story of G.I. Joe”
    (Tue, 29 Sep 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • First Division Museum to Host 12th Annual Civil War Symposium
    (Fri, 25 Sep 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • Cantigny Events to Highlight Medal of Honor Month
    (Mon, 24 Aug 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • First Division Museum to Host Author Sean Naylor
    (Wed, 08 Jul 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • First Division Museum to Host Author Flint Whitlock
    (Tue, 26 May 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • Cantigny to Commemorate 65th Anniversary of D-Day
    More than 150 World War II veterans expected for memorial ceremony and dedication of historic D-Day landing craft on June 6 (Tue, 15 May 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • First Division Museum Hosting Desert Storm Workshop
    (Thu, 14 May 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • Armed Forces Day Excitement at Cantigny Park on May 16!
    Full slate of activities planned, plus three visiting military helicopters; free parking and admission all day (Thu, 7 May 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • First Division Museum at Cantigny Welcomes Military History Educators
    Conference focuses on America’s wars since 1920, and what students need to know (Thu, 30 Apr 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • First Division Museum to Host Author Mitchell A. Yockelson
    (Wed, 22 Apr 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • First Division Museum Issues Call for D-Day Vets
    (Thu, 9 Apr 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • First Division Museum to Host Live Video Teleconference from Afghanistan
    (Thu, 2 Apr 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • Rare World War II Landing Craft Coming to Cantigny Park!
    (Fri, 23 Mar 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • Cantigny First Division Foundation Awards First Research Fellowship
    (Fri, 20 Mar 2009 00:00:00 GMT)


  • First Division Museum to Present “LIONESS”
    (Fri, 20 Mar 2009 00:00:00 GMT)



  •